Home > Running > Tonight’s Run

Tonight’s Run

September 4, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

The first half of tonight’s run went really well, but the second half was tough thanks to my decision to run yesterday on my scheduled day off.  Between the 3 and 3.5 mile mark of my 5 mile loop, I have to run up a pretty steady incline, and once I reached the top tonight, I really thought I was going to have to stop.  It wasn’t that my legs couldn’t take it, but my core muscles just felt exhausted.  That’s a little depressing considering I used to run 10+ miles in a single run, but I pushed on and made it home without stopping, which felt VERY good.  I did spend the first five minutes after my run lying on the front porch, debating whether to roll to the door or go for my cool down walk.  I went for my walk.  It felt good.

  1. jeb
    September 5, 2008 at 7:07 am

    wr…thanks for the comment on my most recent post. you’re my first (commenter, that is). writing and running are, for me at least, very similar. very individual, solo activities, often times painful. and they both tend to require a near constant internal pep rally, less they wither on the vine and slowly become a pastime. but there’s no equal to the feeling of accomplishment i get when i’ve done either of them well.

    keep on truckin…and get out on the trails, eh?

    cheers.

  2. September 12, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Thanks for posting, Jeb! I’m definitely looking forward to some more trail running soon!

  3. sandrar
    September 10, 2009 at 9:47 am

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

