Home > Running > A Rainy Day To Catch Up On Sleep

A Rainy Day To Catch Up On Sleep

September 6, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Today was a long, rainy day — pretty much good for working inside the house (we painted the woodwork in the middle bedroom) and catching up on sleep.  Getting up in the morning lately has been a major problem for me, no matter when I go to bed.  My body just doesn’t want to get out of bed, even on 8 or 9 hours of sleep.  If I have to be at work, I’m okay, I will get awake and out the door, but on days like today when there’s no “ticking clock” to beat, I just can’t get up.  It is nice and warm and comfortable in the bed, but c’mon, after 9 hours, I should be ready to run down the whole world!

This morning I actually opened my eyes at 6:15 AM and thought, hey, finally, an early morning to get some work done, and then I promptly fell back asleep until 9 AM.  That’s almost the exact time my body wants to sleep until every day.  Very strange.

I have to wonder if the combination of the window AC, two cats who are prone to midnight running and occasional bouts of crying at the walls, and a wife who sometimes has trouble sleeping (and tosses and turns when she can’t sleep), is causing my REM cycles to be wonky or something.  “Wonky” is, I believe, the official medical term.

Oh well.  Tomorrow is another day.

One more thing for the cat lovers:

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

