Home > Running > Running in the Rain

Running in the Rain

September 9, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

After mentioning yesterday that I missed running in the rain, of course we awoke to brutal thunderstorms this morning.  Not exactly the best running weather, but the storm soon turned into a light rain and, unfortunately, was barely a drizzle by the time I made it out the door.  Still, it was a nice change of pace and I would definitely be up for a real run in the rain if the opportunity arises.  Luckily, for the first time all summer, there is a 50% chance of rain in the forecast every day for the next 10 days.

Today I ran to my “All 90s” mix and got the following bands/artists: Dave Matthews Band, Better Than Ezra, Del Amitri, Live, The Offspring, Smashing Pumpkins, Gin Blossoms, Linkin Park, Third Eye Blind, and Incubus.  A couple of my favorite bands are in there.  All in all, a good upbeat mix.

  1. September 11, 2008 at 4:26 am

    just found your blog.
    love it.
    am jealous of the name.
    NOW I WANNA SWITCH MINE to the WRITING LIFTER!

    Miz.

  2. Courtney Vail
    September 11, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    That’s wicked funny. “Luckily, for the first time all summer, there is a 50% chance of rain in the forecast every day for the next 10 days.” That made me laugh out loud.

    I love to run in the rain too. And thunderstorms when I’m feeling gutsy. You must have some “freak” in you like I do. I’m going for a run today, but it’s sunny. That’s okay though. It”ll be my first run in like ages. Heading out in about 10 minutes actually. Can’t wait!

  3. September 11, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    It was overcast when I ran earlier this evening, but the rain will come later tonight. Definitely some “freak” involved in that particular love, I’m certain. I’ve never been too fond of thunderstorms, but there was one particular run a couple of years ago where the storms rolled in when I was three or four miles from home. I watched the dark clouds just plow across the sky, coming from the direction of home, and the lightning just kept getting closer and closer. I was running right into the storm and it was VERY cool looking. About a mile from the house, rain started falling in sheets and the thunder was tremendously loud. Fun run, but not sure I’d do it again. 🙂 Hope your run today went well!

  4. Courtney Vail
    September 12, 2008 at 12:36 am

    It went okay. I didn’t bring my watch because I’m hard on myself and didn’t want to get discouraged. After my second mile I had to walk for a 1/4 mile or so then pick up again. I did my 3 1/4 miles but at a crappy pace. It’s amazing how much lung capacity I lose just in a few months, and it’s not like I’ve been sedentary. Running is just different. And my ankle’s a tad bit sore. I think I tried to do too much at once. I’m gonna kick it down to two miles tomorrow then speed walk until I’m spent.

  5. September 12, 2008 at 11:05 am

    Yeah, I completely understand. If I let even a week go by without running, the next couple of times out there it feels like I’ve never run a mile in my life. You lose it that quickly, I guess…!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

