Home > Running > When the Running Mix Goes Bad

When the Running Mix Goes Bad

September 11, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

I didn’t post last night because I was exhausted by the time I got home from work at 9 PM or so.  It was a scheduled off day for running and I didn’t get any fiction writing done.

Selecting shuffle for my running mix failed me today, that’s for sure.  A lot of the same bands as last time, but also some one hit wonders I didn’t need to hear while running, and just about everything had the wrong beats.  I guess I’d better go back to pre-set mixes like the old days.  😉

It was overcast when I ran this evening, but the rain will come later tonight if the forecasters are correct. Maybe I’ll get lucky and it’ll rain on Sunday, my next scheduled running day.

As I mentioned in yesterday’s comments, I’ve never been too fond of running in thunderstorms, but there was one particular run a couple of years ago that’s pretty memorable.  The storms rolled in when I was three or four miles from home with no quick route of return.   I watched the dark clouds just plow across the sky, coming from the direction of my house — the lightning just kept getting closer and closer. I was running right into the storm and it was VERY cool looking.   About a mile from home, rain started falling in sheets and the thunder was tremendously loud. Fun run, but not sure I’d do it again!

One other note: several people asked about the YouTube video in the last post.  That’s Live performing “They Stood Up For Love”, which originally appeared on The Distance to Here, their 1998 album.  That version on YouTube is very different, but I like both a lot.  If you want a REALLY different version, seek out the “Big Bang” version of the song.  Very different beats and lyrics, but very cool.

On the topic of Live, here’s something appropriate for today:

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

