Home > Running > iTunes 8 Genius feature and The Ninja Cat

iTunes 8 Genius feature and The Ninja Cat

September 17, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

On the cool technology front, I’m not a super geek, but I’m really liking the new “Genius” feature in iTunes 8.0, which does two things:

1) You can click on any song in your library and it’ll build a new “mix” based on that song.  Pretty cool.  The mixes I made this morning weren’t bad at all and used some stuff I normally wouldn’t (but liked).  For example, I have around 4,500 tracks in iTunes, and if I clicked on “Good” by Better Than Ezra and then clicked on the “Genius” button, it gives me this new mix:

“Good” by Better Than Ezra
“Inside Out” by Eve 6
“All Over You” by Live
“All For You (Acoustic Version)” by Sister Hazel
“Runaway Train” by Soul Asylum
“Barely Breathing” by Duncan Sheik
“My Own Worst Enemy” by Lit
“Little Miss Can’t Be Wrong” by Spin Doctors
“A Lifetime” by Better Than Ezra
“You Wanted More” by Tonic
“What’s The Frequency, Kenneth?” by R.E.M.
“Everything Falls Apart” by Dog’s Eye View
“Never Let You Go” by Third Eye Blind
“1979” by Smashing Pumpkins
“A Long December” by Counting Crows
“Here’s To The Night” by Eve 6
“Life Is A Highway” by Tom Cochrane
“Mmm Mmm Mmm Mmm” by Crash Test Dummies
“Hey Girl (live in concert)” by O.A.R.
“I Alone” by Live
“Laid” by James
“Hey Jealousy” by Gin Blossoms
“Counting Blue Cars” by Dishwalla
“How’s It Going To Be” by Third Eye Blind
“Wonderful” by Everclear

That’s certainly a mix I would listen to in the car or maybe even while running.
2) The other thing you can do with the “Genius” feature is click on any song in your music library and iTunes will load a list of songs/albums in the iTunes store that you don’t own that you might like… and it seems to be pretty accurate.  This list shows up in a new bar on the right side of the screen in real time.
When I tried it this morning, there were a bunch of songs I hadn’t heard in a long time but thought, “Hey, that would be nice to have” and some new stuff that I didn’t recognize but (when I listened to the 30 second sample) thought, “That sounds pretty cool!”

I think this free feature could end up being VERY expensive for folks.  🙂

Another example… here are the result I get using “Good” by Better Than Ezra:
TOP SONGS YOU’RE MISSING:
* “Laid” by Better Than Ezra
*  “Tremble” by Better Than Ezra
* “Wallflower” by Better Than Ezra
RECOMMENDATIONS:
* “Santa Monica” by Everclear
* “In the Meantime” by Space Hog
* “Til I Hear It From You” by Gin Blossoms (which I own but this is a different version)
*  “Far Behind” by Candlebox
* “Possum Kingdom” by The Toadies
* “Cumbersome” by Seven Mary Three
* “Low” by Cracker
* “All I Want” by Toad the Wet Sprocket
* “The Freshmen” by The Verve Pipe (which I already have in a different version)
* “The Impression That I Get” by  The Mighty Mighty Bosstones

And about a dozen more… I previewed all of them and there are a lot of tracks here I’ll pick up the next time someone sends me an iTunes gift card for the holidays or my birthday.  😉

Before I go, here are a few things I’ve been reading online this week when I should have been working:

9 Weird Christmas Ornaments

How and When to Close a Credit Card

The Couch to 5k in 9 weeks running program

How Can I Change My Body Clock

And for those interested in Ninja Cats, I recommend the following video:

  1. September 17, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Thanks for the feedback! And I wish you the best as you find your groove again. And by the way, the new Genius rocks in iTunes 8!

  2. September 17, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    And don’t be a stranger. I know I won’t.

  3. September 17, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    Your blog is actually now in my “Daily Blog” folder, which I check at least once a day… and usually more often than that. 😉 I seriously think your blog name is perfect. Hope you find an awesome agent!

    As for iTunes, I’ve been a big fan forever, even back when my then new co-workers kept saying, “But why would people pay .99 for songs?”

    Now they have all have huge iPods stuffed with albums. 😉

    I definitely dig this Genius feature. I love technology, but I know I’m never using it to its fullest, if that makes any sense. So stuff like this is cool to me, even though I know people will say they’ve been doing it with some other piece of software for years!

  4. roccopendola
    September 17, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    I look forward to your agent story. It ought to be helpful to me. It’s nice to read about your writing (and running) experiences.

    The Genius feature is solid. Of course, it is Apple’s way of trying to get you to spend more, but so it goes. I wish they would let you narrow the mix down to fewer songs than 25. There is no way I will ever agree on 24 songs they throw in there even though they are from MY library!!

  5. September 18, 2008 at 9:05 am

    Hey roccopendola! Yeah, I think I’ll at least have a few tips for finding an agent, or at least carrying out your search in a smart way. I’ve been through the process three times over the last 12 years and each time the results got better (until I finally had 3 different agents offer representation the same week).

    Definitely digging the Genius. In fact, I’m off to make a new mix right now… and probably buy a few more tracks! I have trouble finding music I’ll like anyway, so I actually appreciate the help. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

