Home > Running > Running on Diamonds

Running on Diamonds

February 3, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Tonight my wife and I were supposed to go to the gym, but by the time we got home from work, her sinuses were giving her all kinds of problems, so I decided to just go out for a quick two mile run around the block.

We were expecting snow today, but once again the weathermen lied.  We should know better than to even listen to them.  The only time they’re right about the weather, it seems, is the day after.  This entire winter they’ve predicted anywhere from a dusting to 6 inches of snow, and not once have they been right.  It’s been rainy, sunny, and 45 degrees, but never has there been snow.  I think they must get paid by the grocery stores or something.  If you make the mistake of trying to pick up a few items the day before a predicted storm, you’d better go armed.

So instead of 3 to 6 inches of beautiful snowfall, we had some light freezing rain this evening, which was done by the time I decided to go out for my run.  Unfortunately, the temperature was in the low 30s, so the sidewalks were slick in a few key places.  There were also some icy puddles I managed to run right into.  It’s not like I haven’t run these streets a few hundred times in the last couple of years, but I somehow still managed to hit three very deep and very cold puddles.  There’s nothing like trudging along with shoes full of numb feet and ice water.

Yet I saw something very cool on this run I’ve never seen before.  There was just enough of a glaze on the sidewalk to catch the streetlights, creating a shimmering effect as if the ground was covered with tiny diamonds.  Everywhere I went, it was like running on the most expensive track in the world.

That was pretty neat and it made the run worth the cold, sloppy effort.

  1. February 3, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    I love when I get little surprise rewards for hauling myself out for a run in the cold and dark — like seeing the northern lights once in a while (not where I live now though). I’ll have to watch for diamond tracks…. 🙂

  2. February 9, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    I’m of the mind that this is one of those things which people typically pay no attention to. Nature’s beauty is literally right under their feet, and they step right over.

    What a wonderful description. Living out here in the desert Southwest I can only marvel when I run across that kind of winter beauty.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

